Christchurch Girls’ High School/Te Kura o Hine Waiora Film Festival 2022

On Friday 28th October, we held our annual Christchurch Girls High School/Te Kura o Hine Waiora Film Festival in the Performing Arts Centre.

This event offers a chance for us to showcase a selection of four films made by Year 13 Media Studies students. ‘Boots’, directed by Molly Jarvis-Taylor, ‘Apathetica’ directed by Phoebe Donald and Ruby Archer, ‘I Will Always Love You’ directed by Izzy Phoon, Maggie Harris and Eva Rankin, and ‘Flame’ directed by Elise Walker were shown. A very entertaining film trailer, ‘Cover Story’, directed by two of our Year 12 Media Studies students, Emily McVicar and Rata Shaw, was also shown at this year’s festival. Many thanks to our whanau, friends and the entire school community, including our amazing librarian staff, for their support in the making of all of the Media Studies students’ films. We couldn’t have made our films without you! The judges for this year’s festival were Ms Rae (TIC Media Studies) and Dr Williamson.


Best Editing – ‘Apathetica’ (Ruby Archer and Phoebe Donald)

Best Actor – Ana-Hera Walker, for ‘Flame’

Best Cinematography – ‘Flame’ (Elise Walker)

We were also thrilled that Ruby and Phoebe’s film ‘Apathetica’ was selected to be shown at ‘School Shorts’, an annual film festival for South Island secondary schools that is organised by ARA (NZ Broadcasting School). Well done!